top of page

Read this POST

Expert profile

1)What is important in learning?


To address this question, it seems necessary to understand the concept learning in its abstract meaning, rather than in the procedural. For this reason, learning should be understood as a personal meaning-making tool, even if it occurs and happens in a group context. Despite the idea that, inherently there are several processes linked to the acquisition of knowledge, learning is not about compiling but constructing. According to how the cognition processes occur, the different stages through which the human thinking is formed, perception, attention, memory (short term, long term, working memory) and finally the high executive functions (language, understanding, information processes), it is known that learning is an active process. In this sense, learning can be conceived as an individual or group activity, where those processes take place in each of the participants’ heads. For that reason, these cognitive aspects influence the learning process to the extent of each individual.


2) What kind of learner I am? Explain, why?


As a student, I believe I have several techniques or methods to help me learning, not only academically but in other practical situations too. For instance, I can remember better the things I can see, and specially, those things that after seeing them I write down. In this sense, I would say that I am a visual but active learner, because I am aware of what things suit my mind better for a longer retention. Nevertheless, I do not mean that learning equals to memorizing, but it plays an important role. Referring to memory I consider the working memory as the most important and relevant one, even if it is a diminutive part of cognition, but it really plays an important role in this process.


More personally and in detail, would say that I am a sensible learner. It means I can perceive what is around me, and not only academically speaking, but emotionally. I believe that emotions can enhance one´s experience when learning, in terms of giving personal meaning to the process. A good predisposition to learn is set by the individual, the environment and the personal interpretation of it by the learner. Hence, basing on my experience, I am aware of what kind of settings help me more and also what I can do to feel more comfortable in different learning situations. For instance, I do not cope well with time pressure. In lessons where there is a time limit for a specific task I do not always obtain the best results because under pressure I tend to get blocked.


To conclude, because of the fact that I am able to identify my strengths and weaknesses, and to act consequently to the requirements of the environment, I consider I am a in the right path to be a long-life learner.


3) What is the role of collaboration for learning?


To my understanding, collaborative learning is just one approach. It is based on the theory of constructivism, which claims that knowledge building brings more meaning to learning, compared to other traditional methods, because it requires high order thinking skills. Nevertheless, some people may believe that collaborative learning can be seen as task-division. Notwithstanding students will play different roles but share the same learning goal. Collaboration is more than the sum of different parts put together in the same work. That, indeed is known as cooperative learning. In addition, it is either the group’s development as a whole but the individual development of each member in the context of a group setting. Working hand-in-hand with other members bring new and more broad perspectives to the pot. Moreover, when working collaboratively, critical thinking is required as a filter for best ideas.


However, I assume that learning and knowing how to work in collaborative environments is highly needed for the labour market and for life itself. We move towards an, even more, globalized society where knowledge is constructed and shared in a bigger scale than ever before. Nevertheless, people should develop their own knowledge as well by solo working and independent tasks. Not everything has to be independent work, neither group work, but the ideal is found in doing both.



4) What kind of collaborator I am? Explain, why?


When working in teams, I believe in the importance of that every single member is focusing on the same learning objective as the rest. However, each member would act differently according to his/her preferences and personal skills. In my case, the characteristics that would define me in a group work are the following; I like to hear other’s comments and beliefs when working together. I am a good observer and I try my best to summarize what people think in order to reach a common understanding. However, sometimes when that is not possible, the main ideas can still be pointed out. Despite this fact, when it comes to my personal contributions to the work, I feel that I am methodical, critical and sceptical with the sources of the information and the amount of content I get from them. Indeed, I need to be sure that I understand something by myself before I try to explain it in the group. Personally, during my life as a student, I have seldom enjoyed being the leader, mostly because this role is misunderstood as the boss, and past experiences had shown me that for being a leader you need certain interpersonal and intrapersonal skills. Currently I am working on that, because I want to become a leader when it is needed.


5) What is the role of technology in learning and collaboration?


From my perspective, technology is only a tool that enhances learning and helps students communicating. It has no meaning by itself unless the objective is to get to know the technologies. For this reason, technology plays the following roles in learning and collaborating; first as a storage. Nowadays it is not needed an enormous library to have full access to knowledge. Secondly, as a worldwide and fast source of accessing to information and finally, it can be used to link and to foster communication among students.


6) Reflect and ponder how you can capitalize the LET studies in the future in your role as an expert in learning and educational technology


I would say that after completing these studies, I will be able to identify how to properly link technology with pedagogy. Currently, I can affirm I have knowledge of technologies and its use, but I would like first, to get to know more resources and tools, and second, to put them into practice, to be able extract the possible pedagogical boundaries of their use. As a future educator, I believe we are moving towards a more constructivist and more technological society than ever before. For that reason, it is necessary that students are not taught what they have to learn but how to find their way to learn, according to what is happening now. I consider that the self-regulated and collaborating learning are a must to be included education for that purpose. In addition, at this moment, basing on my knowledge, I would also include technology-supported collaborative learning, instead of only computer-supported collaborative learning, in the same framework. Not only computers are used as ICTs in our society, but also smartphones, tablets, tools from the internet, electronic and digital gadgets and all of them have a space in the field of education. Therefore, as teacher, I wish I could implement the use of technology in the classroom focusing my student’s learning in the process of knowledge building, rather than only in the outcome.


Diego Guzmán Medrano.

CATEGORIES

About Me.

I am an elementary teacher. Basketball player and coach. A little geek may say too. Enjoying life in the north. That is the spirit.

bottom of page